Corporate Review

What is ISO Certification and why does it matter?

What is ISO Certification and why does it matter?

ISO certification is a third-party seal of approval indicating a company or business adheres to one of the international standards created and published by the International Organization for Standardization’s (ISO). The ISO is a non-governmental international organization that brings together experts to share information and create worldwide standards that drive innovation and propose solutions to global problems.

ISO certification identifies businesses that are committed to quality standards as well as the quality management systems required to meet them. Certification is earned and maintained by a system of voluntary, independent audits. This accountability supports firms in maintaining and improving their product and service quality.

The ISO History

According to the official website of ISO, the organization came into existence in 1946, when 65 delegates from 25 countries meet to discuss the future of International Standardization in London. 1947 was the official year when the organization was constituted with 67 technical committees (groups of experts focusing on a specific subject).  

ISO Certification – Types

Many industries have ISO certificates, ranging from energy management and social responsibility to medical devices and energy management. To ensure consistency, ISO standards have been established. Each certification has its own set of standards and requirements, as well as a numerical classification.

Benefits of ISO Certification | ✓Proven Benefits | ✓Research Backed

As of April 2022, the ISO has developed over 24,261 standards, covering everything from manufactured products and technology to food safety, agriculture, and healthcare.

First of all, the entrepreneur needs to choose the type of ISO certification required for the business. There are various types of ISO certification are available such as listed below:

  • ISO 9001:2008- Quality Management System
  • OHSAS 18001 – Occupational Health & Safety Management System
  • ISO 37001 – Anti-bribery management systems
  • ISO 31000 – Risk Management
  • ISO 27001 – Information Security Management System
  • ISO 10002 – Compliant Management System
  • ISO 14001:2015 – Environment Management System
  • ISO 26000 – Social Responsibility
  • ISO 28000 – Security Management
  • ISO 22008 – Food Safety Management
  • SA 8000 – Social accountability
  • EnMS EN 16001 ISO 50001 – Energy Management
  • SO/IEC 17025 – Testing and calibration laboratories
  • SO 13485 – Medical devices
  • ISO 639 – Language codes
  • ISO 4217 – Currency codes
  • ISO 3166 – Country codes
  • ISO 8601 – Date and time format
  • ISO 20121 – Sustainable events
  • SO/IEC 27001 – Information security management
Changes in ISO 9000 Standard series | Download Scientific Diagram

Also Read : Entrepreneurship and Skill Development Training Programmes launched by the Government

ISO Certification’s Benefits

  • International credibility: ISO certification is vital in helping an organisation to establish credibility in global trade.
  • Customer Satisfaction: ISO standards are designed to help businesses provide better service to their consumers while also increasing customer satisfaction.
  • Government Tenders: To bid on government tenders, ISO certification is required.
  • Organizational Functional Efficiency: Obtaining ISO Certification improves organizational functional efficiency. The ISO Certification Agency can assist in the development of SOPs (Standard Operating Procedures) and work instructions. An organization’s resources are better managed when ISO is implemented.
  • Product Quality: Obtaining ISO Certification ensures that product quality meets international standards, lowering the chance of product order rejections caused by defective products.
  • Marketability: ISO certification enhances a company’s credibility and directly aids in marketing.

How to get ISO Certification in India?

1. Choose an ISO Certificate Type

The first step is to determine the type of ISO certificate your organization needs. We examined a range of ISO certifications above, and you should select the ISO certificate that is most appropriate for your company.

2. Selecting an ISO Certification Organization

It’s crucial to note that ISO isn’t the only organization that certifies firms. Certification is handled by third parties. It is critical to choose a reputable and well-known certifying authority.

Keep the following in mind when selecting an ISO registrar:

Investigate several ISO Certification service suppliers.

Check to see if they’re following the CASCO guidelines. CASCO is an ISO body that deals with agreement verification issues.

Step-by-step Process of ISO Certification in India

Step 1. Create an application or contract papers

The registrar of the organization and the person who is applying should sign the terms of a contract. The contract typically defines the rights and obligations for each party and covers the issues of confidentiality, liability, and access rights.

Step 2. Reviews of Documents

The ISO Auditor will examine all the quality standards and documents related to different policies and procedures in place by the organization. The review of the work done can assist the ISO auditor in finding potential gaps in compliance with the specifications set forth within ISO standards.

Step 3. Create an Action Plan

After your ISO auditor has completed their audit of the current gaps within your association, the preparation of an action plan is mandated. Make a checklist of the tasks to be completed to get the desired changes to your company. Perhaps you need to offer training to your employees to be efficient as they adapt to new procedures. Inform all employees about the ISO standards to productivity and quality standards accordingly.

Step 4. Certification Audit

It is classified into two types, Phase 1 and Phase 2.

Phase 1 –

The modifications will then be examined by an ISO auditor within the company. Then, they will determine the potential nonconformities within your procedures and systems to the ideal quality management system. They can then divide the infractions into major and minor non-conformities. The applicant should carefully evaluate every non-conformity and then make sure that they are aligned to the quality standards desired by adjustments to the techniques and procedures used by the company.

Phase 2 –

When the necessary changes have been made within the company, the ISO auditor will conduct their final audit. The auditor will verify whether all violations were eliminated or not, as per ISO quality guidelines. If the ISO auditor is fully satisfied, they will draft an official ISO audit report and forward it to the registry.

Step 5. Complete ISO Certificate

Once all violations are resolved and all findings are included in the auditing process, the registrar or owner will award an ISO certificate.

Step 6. Surveillance Audits

It is primarily carried out to verify whether the ISO quality standards are being followed in place by the company or not. It is carried out periodically depending on the requirement.

(The following phrase has been taken from MSMEX)

What is the Cost of ISO Certificate in India?

The cost of an ISO certificate varies depending on the number of people at the organisation and other factors such as how procedures and processes are currently managed. You can get expert assistance and coaching from MSMEx for additional information on the cost, technique, and process of ISO certificates.


  • Size of an organization
  • Number of employees
  • Processes of Organization
  • Level of risk associated with the scope of services of the organization
  • The complexity of the management system
  • The number of working shifts

Further Readings



Leave a Comment